INP 016 \* Authorization: PA 495 of 1980 \*



Edition	167
Effective	06-01-2024
Released	05-01-2024
Maximum escrow amount \$15,520 (Adjusted annually by CPI)	

Gretchen Whitmer, Governor • Anita G. Fox, DIFS Director

# List of Michigan Municipalities Participating in the Fire Insurance Withholding Program

(Sections 2845 and 2227 of the Michigan Insurance Code)

The Director is required to issue periodic updates of municipalities participating in the Fire Insurance Withholding Program. Under amendments enacted in 1998, the program is now divided into two parts, with participation in each part determined by population. Under Section 2845 of the Insurance Code, municipalities of less than 50,000 in population located in counties of less than 425,000 in population that have passed resolutions establishing escrow accounts are allowed to escrow 25% of a fire insurance settlement, for fire and explosion losses to real property within the boundaries of the municipality. For residential property, the 25% settlement shall not exceed the annually adjusted amount reflected in the upper right corner of this list.

Section 2227 of the Insurance Code establishes a separate list of municipalities with a population of 50,000 or more, or those municipalities with a population less than 50,000 but in a county with a population of 425,000 or more. These larger municipalities are allowed to establish escrow accounts to escrow 25% of a fire insurance settlement for fire or explosion losses, as well as losses caused by the perils of vandalism, malicious mischief, wind, hail, riot, or civil commotion to real property within the boundaries of the municipality. For residential property, the 25% settlement shall not exceed the annually adjusted amount reflected in the upper right corner of this list.

This updated list specifies the section of the program under which each municipality is participating, and replaces any previous editions. Because the information contained on the list changes, it is important to always use the most current edition.

Insurers must have at least 30 days' notice of new municipalities before those municipalities may begin to apply the program's provisions. The withholding provisions apply to new municipalities on or after the effective date shown in the upper right corner. The withholding provisions are currently in force in all other municipalities listed.

If you have questions about either Section of the Insurance Code or this list, please contact the Department of Insurance and Financial Services at 517-284-8819. Participating municipalities may make changes to the information contained within this list by sending the changes in writing to: Department of Insurance and Financial Services, Office of Consumer Services, P.O. Box 30220, Lansing, MI 48909-7720.

Note: Any updates or new municipalities will be marked with an \*

Michigan Department of Insurance and Financial Services (DIFS)

DIFS is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids, services and other reasonable accommodations are available upon request to individuals with disabilities. Department of Insurance and Financial Services, PO Box 30220, Lansing, Michigan 48909 www.michigan.gov/difs | Phone: 877-999-6442

#### Municipalities Participating in the Fire Insurance Withholding Program (Sections 2227 and 2845 of the Michigan Insurance Code)

#### **ARLINGTON TOWNSHIP**

(Van Buren County) William F Colgren, Jr 43129 C.R. 215 Lawrence, MI 49064 (269) 674-8420 Effective: 08-06-1984 Section: 2845 ASHLEY, VILLAGE OF (Gratiot County) Michelle Fitzpatrick Clerk 114 W. Oak Street P.O. Box 158 Ashley, MI 48806 (989) 847-3050 Effective: 12-01-2002 Section: 2845 ATHENS, VILLAGE OF (Calhoun County) Bonnie J Conant Athens Village Clerk 129 East Burr Oak Athens, MI 49011 (269) 729-5515 Effective: 03-23-1992 Section: 2845 \* ATLAS TOWNSHIP (Genesee County) Jim Busch Supervisor 7386 S. Gale Rd. P.O. Box 277 Goodrich, MI 48438 (810) 636-2548 Effective: 06-01-2012 Section: 2227 **AUBURN HILLS** (Oakland County) Kim Wickenheiser Dep. Finance Dir./Dep. Treasurer 1827 N. Squirrel Road Auburn Hills, MI 48326 (248) 364-6826 Effective: 09-27-1990 Section: 2227

## **AUGUSTA CHARTER TOWNSHIP**

(Washtenaw County) David Music Fire Chief 8021 Talladay Road P.O. Box 100 Whittaker, MI 48190 (734) 461-9500 Effective: 09-01-2005 Section: 2845 **AURELIUS, TOWNSHIP OF** (Ingham County) Donna Lawson Aurelius Township Clerk 1939 S. Aurelius Road Mason, MI 48854 (517) 628-2093 Effective: 09-02-1999 Section: 2845

# AUSABLE CHARTER TWP.

(Iosco County) Eric Strayer Superintendent 4420 N. US HWY 23 AuSable, MI 48750 (989) 739-9169 Effective: 12-01-2000 Section: 2845

### AUSABLE, TOWNSHIP OF

(Roscommon County) Joseph F. Meadows Supervisor P.O. Box 578 Roscommon, MI 48653 (989) 233-5656 Effective: 09-02-1999 Section: 2845 **BAD AXE** (Huron County) Kay Gobel 300 East Huron Bad Axe, MI 48413 (989) 269-7681 Effective: 05-31-1989 Section: 2845