

CITY OF ANGLETON CITY COUNCIL MINUTES 120 S. CHENANGO STREET, ANGLETON, TEXAS 77515 TUESDAY, AUGUST 09, 2022 AT 6:00 PM

THE FOLLOWING REPRESENTS THE ACTIONS TAKEN BY THE ANGLETON CITY COUNCIL IN THE ORDER THEY OCCURRED DURING THE MEETING. THE CITY COUNCIL OF ANGLETON, TEXAS CONVENED IN A MEETING ON TUESDAY, AUGUST 09, 2022 AT 6:00 P.M., IN THE ANGLETON CITY HALL COUNCIL CHAMBERS, 120 S. CHENANGO, ANGLETON, TEXAS.

DECLARATION OF A QUORUM AND CALL TO ORDER

With a quorum present, Mayor Perez called the Council Meeting to order at 6:02 P.M.

PRESENT

Mayor Jason Perez
Mayor Pro-Tem John Wright
Council Member Cecil Booth
Council Member Mark Gongora
Council Member Travis Townsend
Council Member Christiene Daniel

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Mayor Perez led the Pledge of Allegiance.

INVOCATION

Council Member Booth gave the invocation.

CITIZENS WISHING TO ADDRESS CITY COUNCIL

No one spoke

REGULAR AGENDA

1. Discussion and possible action on setting a public hearing date related to the proposed FY2023 Budget for the Fiscal Year beginning October 1, 2022 and ending on September 30, 2023, and discussion on the proposed FY2023 Budget for the Fiscal Year Beginning October 1, 2022.

Tenecha Williams, Interim Finance Director presented a PowerPoint on the General Fund and Water Fund.

Upon motion by Mayor Pro-Tem Wright and seconded by Council Member Booth, Council approved setting a public hearing for August 23, 2022 at 6:00 PM related to the proposed FY2023 Budget for the Fiscal Year beginning October 1, 2022, and ending on September 30, 2023. The motion passed on a 6-0 vote.

2. Discussion and possible action for a record vote on the 2022 Proposed tax rate of \$0.618760 per \$100 of assessed valuation, also known as the Voter Approval Rate, and determine a date, time and place for a public hearing for the agreed upon proposed tax rate by council.

Tenecha Williams, Interim Finance Director presented a PowerPoint on the Fiscal Year 2023 Property Tax Rate.

Upon motion by Mayor Pro-Tem Wright and seconded by Council Member Booth, Council approved a Public Hearing to be held on August 23, 2022, at 6:00 PM for the purpose of hearing tax payer opinions concerning adoption of tax rate for Fiscal Year 2022-2023.

Mayor Perez called for a record vote in order of position:

Mayor Jason Perez Aye
Council Member Daniel Aye
Council Member Townsend Aye
Mayor Pro-Tem Wright Aye
Council Member Booth Aye
Council Member Gongora Aye
The motion passed on a 6-0 vote.

Upon motion by Council Member Booth and seconded by Council Member Gongora, Council approved a proposed Ad Valorem property tax rate (voter approval rate) of 0.618760 for Fiscal Year 2022-2023.

Mayor Perez called for a record vote in order of position:

Mayor Jason Perez
Council Member Daniel
Council Member Townsend
Mayor Pro-Tem Wright
Council Member Booth
Council Member Gongora
The motion passed on a 4-2 vote.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

The City Council will convened into executive session at 7:24 PM pursuant to the provisions of Chapter 551 Texas Government Code, in accordance with the authority contained therein:

3. Discussion and possible action on Boards and Commissions appointments, in accordance with Section 551.074 of the Texas Government Code.

OPEN SESSION

The City Council reconvened into executive session at 8:04 PM pursuant to the provisions of Chapter 551 Texas Government Code, in accordance with the authority contained therein:

3. Discussion and possible action on Boards and Commissions appointments, in accordance with Section 551.074 of the Texas Government Code.

Upon motion by Mayor Pro-Tem Wright and seconded by Council Member Gongora, Council approved the following appointments and reappointments.

Angleton Better Living Corporation - Reappointment of William Jackson, and appointments of Johnny Voss, and Jaime Moreno with terms ending in 2024.

Planning and Zoning Commission - Reappointments of Ellen Eby, Bill Garwood, Bonnie McDaniel, and Deborah Spoor with terms ending in 2024.

Board of Adjustments - Reappointments of Daniel Graham, Ellen Eby, Belinda Gaines with terms ending in 2024 and Alternate Terry Roberts with a term ending in 2023.

Animal Services Advisory Committee - Appointment of Janie Schwartz-Shaw with a term ending in 2024

Keep Angleton Beautiful - Reappointments of Cheryl Scarborough, Andrea Demopulos-Coasts, and Tracy Delesandri with terms ending in 2024.

Parks and Recreation Board - Reappointments of Clara Dannhaus, and Jaime Moreno, and the appointment of Erin Boren with terms ending in 2024.

The motion passed on a 6-0 vote.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 8:06 PM.

These minutes were approved by Angleton City Council on this the 13th day of December, 2022.

City Council Minutes - August 9, 2022		Page 13
Michelle Peres, TRMC		
ATTEST:		
	Jason Perez Mayor	
	CITY OF ANGLETON, TEX	KAS

City Secretary